Nordic Neuroscience

Nordic Neuroscience is a Special Interest Group (SIG) under the Scandinavian Physiological Society. The list of affiliated scientists covers researchers from the Nordic countries, who work within Neurosciences. The purpose of the group is to improve contact between members, arrange focused meetings and symposia at SPS annual meetings, and organize exchange of faculty members and students and other activities. It is chaired by professors Tomi Taira, Sten Grillner and Mai Marie Holm.

How to join Nordic Neuroscience: You must be a member of the SPS and be an active researcher in the field of neuroscience. If you would like to join Nordic Neuroscience, please contact Tomi Taira, University of Helsinki or Sten Grillner, Nobel institute for Neurophysiology, Department of Neuroscience, Karolinska institute. We would like to know your name, title, research interests and affiliation.

History: Nordic Neuroscience was founded in 2007 and chaired by Eric Hanse, Department of Neuroscience and Physiology, Gothenburg University and Esa Korpi, Institute of Biomedicine, University of Helsinki. In 2009 the chairmanship was taken over by Professor Kimmo Jensen, Aarhus University and the group changed name from “Neurotransmission” to “Nordic Neuroscience”.

Currently, the group is chaired by professors Tomi Taira, Sten Grillner and Mai Marie Holm (Jan. 2019).

Upcoming events:

2019: 12-14 June: 3rd Nordic Neuroscience Meeting, Helsinki

Past events:

2017: 7-9 June: 2nd Nordic Neuroscience Meeting, Stockholm

2015: 10-12 June: 1st Meeting of the Special Interest Group in Nordic Neuroscience

Trondheim, Norway.

Download the Flyer (pdf) and the Program (pdf).

Leave a Reply